Study Guides

Class Topics and Guides

Monday 26 August 2013 On the road to Heritage Tourism

Wednesday 28 August 2013 Conceptualizing Cultural Tourism

Friday 30 August 2013 Heritage as a new mode of Cultural Production

Monday 2 September 2013 Sustainability and Heritage Tourism

Wednesday 4 September 2013 How Tourism Works: Attractions and Destinations, short version

Friday 6 September 2013 Frames of Analysis of Heritage Tourism

Monday 9 September 2013 Historical Introduction to Tourism in the United States

Wednesday 11 September 2013 Making Tourism National

Friday 13 September 2013 National Parks as Destinations

Monday 16 September 2013 Automobility and the Democracy of Touring

Wednesday 18 September 2013 Government Sponsored Tourism, See America First

Friday 20 September 2013 The Invention of Tradition

Monday 23 September 2013 Exchange Systems in Heritage Tourism

Wednesday 25 September 2013 Intangible Heritage and its Management

Friday 27 September 2013 The Leisure Perspective

Monday 30 September 2013 Planning Programming of Cultural Events

Wednesday 2 October 2013 Architectural Tourism: The discourse of Critical Analysis

Friday 4 October 2013 Branding in Tourism and Architectural Frames

Monday 7 October 2013 The Business of Tourism (with Dr. Daniel Hubbard)

Wednesday 9 October 2013 Midterm

Friday 11 October 2013 Marketing Heritage Tourism

Wednesday 16 October 2013 Heritage Tourism and the Historic Preservation Movement

Friday 18 October 2013 Making the Case for the National Park (with Lucy Lawliss, Superintendent of the Fredericksburg & Spotsylvania National Military Park)

Monday 21 October 2013 From Stewardship to Sales: Historic Preservation to Heritage Services

Wednesday 23 October 2013 Tracking the Money: Selling the National Park System

Friday 25 October 2013 Fieldtrip: Ferry Farm and the Virtual Heritage Tour (with Dave Muraca)

Monday 28 October 2013 The Heritage Area Concept

Wednesday 30 October 2013 The National Trust and Heritage Tourism

Friday 1 November 2013 Partnerships: The Revised Language of Performance

Monday 4 November 2013 What Are National Heritage Areas?

Wednesday 6 November 2013 On Becoming a National Heritage Area I

Friday 8 November 2013 On Becoming a National Heritage Area II

Monday 11 November 2013 The Alliance of National Heritage Areas

Wednesday 13 November 2013 Opportunities and Challenges of the NHA Program

Friday 15 November 2013 Legislation to revise and reauthorize the NHA Program

Monday 18 November 2013 Wrap up on the National Heritage Areas

Wednesday 20 November 2013 Alternatives or, on the way to Federal Heritage Areas

Friday 22 November 2013 Presentation and Management of Heritage Assets

Monday 25 November 2013 Heritage Tourism and GeoTourism

Monday 2 December 2013 Is Heritage Tourism sustainable in the United States?

Wednesday 4 December 2013 Stewarding the Future

Friday 6 December 2013 Course Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *